Watercolored Vivid Vases

I have really enjoying adding ink to paper using the watercoloring technique. Using the Stampin’ Up stamp, Vivid Vases, and the new Basic Black Archival ink (which is water resistant), I was able to CASE (Copy And Share Everything) this card from Linda Gutierrez from her ‘Stamping Year Round’ blog.

VIVID VASES CARD (1)
Watercoloring with inks and finishing off with Crystal Effects bring this card to life.
VIVID VASES CARD (3)
Get creative with washy tape for a quick addition to your cards.

To add dimension to the card, once it was watercolored and allowed to dry, Crystal Effects was added to the top of the vases and the flowers. There are a couple of air bubbles in my example which I have left as is to show what happens if you don’t pop the bubbles with a pin as you are applying the Crystal Effects. I will remember this for next time!

Rather than mess up my ink pads, I choose to gently tap a section of a stamping block onto the pad and use this as my colour palette. As well as keeping my ink pads clean, I was able to add several colours at the same time.

To create the card, I used a Very Vanilla card base, embossed a piece of Lost Lagoon cardstock, then added washi tape from my stash for added embellishment.

My niece is an amazingly creative young lady, and did a fabulous job with her version of the Vivid Vases card. She chose to only place the Crystal Effects to the right of the vases, adding extra light to one side and thus enhancing the shading to the left.

Slide8

 

 

The colours I chose to use for this card are:
LOST LAGOON
WATERMELON WONDER
HELLO HONEY
OLD OLIVE
WISTERIA WONDER

 

Leave a Reply

